Can a batter swing at a wild pitch on purpose, 0-2 or 1-2 count, if he knows he can reach first base?
- Alan SLv 68 months ago
Yes, of course. But I think it would be pretty impressive if the batter can think and make the decision to swing and miss on purpose that quickly. Wild pitches are pretty rare and I doubt that the batter thinks about it that much. They are more worried about protecting the plate and not striking out.
- 8 months ago
fredbird of teh st louis cardinals raped me :-(
- Coffee DrinkerLv 78 months ago
Not sure where you learned the rules of baseball but where I come from the batter is allowed to swing at any pitch.
Good luck predicting which pitch is going to get past the catcher and realizing it along with the situation in time to swing.
- 8 months ago
no. at 0-2 he must take a pitch.
- How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
- Jeffrey KLv 68 months ago
He can swing at the pitch as it comes to the plate but he can't swing after it passes the catcher.
- KaleyKLv 78 months ago
Yes, a batter can intentionally swing at a wild pitch for the purpose of reaching first base. As Curtis pointed out, it's virtually impossible for the batter to know the pitch is going to be a wild pitch.
- curtisports2Lv 78 months ago
Sure, if he knew it was going to be a wild pitch. Nobody does. The batter is already committed to swinging before anybody knows it's going to be a wild pitch. Everything happens in a fraction of a second.
- KathyLv 78 months ago
- DavidLv 78 months ago
- 18 gibbs 20Lv 78 months ago
Of course. He can swing at any pitch.