Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Home & GardenOther - Home & Garden · 7 months ago

What to do about mice in my house?

Specifically in my shoes. I had a shoe rack in my closet, and the mice have been climbing on the shoe rack shelves. They were all in my shoes and ruined most of them to the point where I had to throw them away. There is a hole behind the radiator in my room; I patched it up with foam insulation for now but it didn’t seem to work. I’ve switched to an over the door shoe organizer, and it seems they can get to the first few rows of that too. I’m really confused and fed up. My mother thinks they try to get to my work shoes because I work in a restaurant on the weekends.. any help? I’ve tried rodent repellent (the spray), dryer sheets, etc...

14 Answers

Relevance
  • 6 months ago

I came across the method of using peppermint oil for hard to reach places – I couldn’t get the high concentration oil cheaply so tried some of those solid air fresheners that evaporate over time – the very cheap chemical smelling ones (they say they are lavender) – haven’t had a rodent since. Don’t know that I would like to put one in my closet.

• hart
    Lv 6
    7 months ago

they like your food

• 7 months ago

Use traps or poison

• Do you have money for an exterminator ? An exterminator would know how to find out how they're getting in and he'd spray your house with poison to put a stop to them . When my friend had mice in his trailer, his landlady gave him a few mouse traps that contained poison , He hid the mouse traps in his cupboards, and the mice found these mouse traps, ate the poison, and died . It's gruesome to come home and find a dead mouse in the middle of the floor, but you can't make an omelette without breaking a few eggs .

• Karen
      Lv 5
      7 months agoReport

He'd spray the house with mouse poison? Really? Nice analogy, by the way. Again, I'm interested in the whole mouse spray idea.