Why is French Polynesia a trust territory of France?

This is in my World Geography final study packet and we never learned about it. Help?

2 Answers

  • 7 months ago

    Because France colonized the islands there a long time ago.

  • Anonymous
    7 months ago

    French Polynesia is a sprawling possession of France in the Pacific Ocean, made up of 118 volcanic and coral islands and atolls, including Tahiti.

    There are five island groups - the Society Islands, the Tuamotu archipelago, the Gambier Islands, the Marquesas Islands and the Tubuai Islands. Tahiti is the most densely-populated island.

    Tahiti, in the Society islands, became a French colony in 1880.

    It is NOT a Trust Territory.


    • Lizzy7 months agoReport

      Thank you, don't know why she put that on our study guide. Sorry for the trouble.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.