Is it possible to get a decent job right out college?

What I mean is can I get a job right out of College without practical work experience? So, I am either going to major in Accounting or computer engineering but I am working as a Teacher in a daycare right now. I know we all worked crazy jobs to get us through college but will potinional employers see my past work experience and push me to the side because it has nothing to do with what I am applying for even if I do have the degree. Really though I am just trying to pay my way through college attempting not to get hundred thousand dollars or more in debt. I am a non traditional student. Everything is planned out except what going to happen after I graduate. I am working full time during the day and taking classes at night. I do homework in the morning seeing as I don't get home till some time after midnight and study during my lunch break and while the children are sleeping. It is perfect right now until I have to think of graduation. I know that none of knows what is going to happen in the future but it dosn't hurt to be prepared. I just don't want to waste all that money not to be able to get a career with the degree I worked so hard for. Thank you everyone for taking the time and sharing your knowledge and opinions with me.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 months ago

Yes, it is, but it is harder without an internship or some experience. Here's the deal -- employers hire talent. They hire skills, ability, and attitude. There are two ways to demonstrate you have those: 1) a BA/BS degree from a reputable university, and 2) real world experience and references.