Is it wrong to recreate someone else's art and then sell it?

I am not good at creating my own original artwork, but I find myself able to recreate other painting that I see online really well and was wondering if it was illegal for me to sell the art without the consent of the original artist? Even if I give credit to them?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 months ago
    Favorite Answer

If the artist is long dead, over 70 years, such as Caravaggio, then his paintings are out of copyright so you can make copies. But all the same you must make it clear that they are copies and not originals and that is allowed to make copies as they are not forgeries.

For a living artist there are copyright problems and it would be illegal to sell copies.

• Nuff Sed
      Lv 7
      6 months agoReport

Under US copyright laws, the "date of death" of the owner would only apply to works published after 1968 and to unpublished works, when calculating the copyright duration.

• 4 months ago

Most Zombie Formalism looks pretty much the same in person as it does on iPhone and Instagram. Lacks complexity, structural presence, no surprises, and no unique visual or originality. It’s made for trade. Almost everyone who paints as this has come through art school. You can feel their teacher's views formed in the '60s and the knowledge passed is one of aesthetic monoculture. Read more at https://www.virtosuart.com/blog/zombie-formalism-i...

• Cousin
    Lv 6
    7 months ago

You are the first person to think of that. But I would bet that they'd make it illegal if you did.

• 7 months ago