Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsFootball (American) · 7 months ago

What position would I play in football?

I need a change in my life and I was thinking about going out and playing football my junior year. I am currently a sophomore but I played football from the age of 5 to 12 and quit then. I have fairly good awareness and a good football IQ. Lots of people are encouraging me to play football but I’m not too sure what position I would play.

I just turned 16

Current sports - Water polo & Swim team

5’11 170

Bench 205 Deadlift 350

I run a 3.1s 20 yard dash which is roughly a 5.5s 40 yard dash

25 inch vertical

Decent hands

I’ve never been very shy to contact

I’ve played pretty much every sport there is from lacrosse to wrestling to water polo

Back when I used to play I was a DE/LB and a TE but I’ve always liked defense more

I have a fairly decent body like I can gain fat and muscle quick or lose it quick so if I needed to gain some weight or lose something I could

I am not meant to be a sprinter like a WR or CB as I have some hip problems that limits my mobility in situations like that

Let me know what you think, personally I think safety or running back as I’m a bit small to play in the front 7 but who knows.

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 months ago

The one your coach assigns. Go speak with the high school coach NOW. It is fine to express your interest in and or preference for a position, but it really comes down to your specific skills and how many, if any, other players are better at a particular position.

• 7 months ago

Maybe they'll let Jerry out of prison to be your coach.

• Anonymous
    7 months ago

LB (Liar Back)

What's your time for a 100 freestyle. I did 52.10 in 1963, 2:06.5 in 200 IM.

• 7 months ago

going by your description I'd put you at running back if "I" were your coach.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Tight End

• Anonymous
    7 months ago