Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Cars & TransportationBuying & Selling · 7 months ago

Down payments and auto loans?

I am new to this stuff and I have some questions. I want a new vehicle and I'm willing to make monthly payments since I have no other bills to pay. However, I don't have enough money of course for any vehicle. I'm wondering, if a car costs say $25000 and has a down payment of $2000, can I just get an auto loan of $2000 and make my monthly payments? Or is it more complicated?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • chorle
    Lv 7
    7 months ago

There is more for starters if you finance a car you will be required to buy Full Coverage auto insurance and if you are under 25 years old and/or have less than 7 years as a licenced driver it can be very expensive.

Also there are taxes, registration fees, gap insurance, and extended warranties that you are likely to get and increase the price of the car.

If you decide you want a new or certified used car then it would be wise to talk to your credit union or bank who will likely give you a lower interest rate and might be able to pre approve you

• Edna
    Lv 7
    7 months ago

If the car you're interested in has a selling price of $25,000 and you can afford a down payment of $2000 with the dealership, then the remaining balance of $23,000 (plus,if you wish, Tax, Title, and License) will be financed by a finance company or by a bank for the next 5 or 6 years, with an annual percentage rate of at least 18% each year until the note is paid in full.

When you finance a car, you don't pay the dealership where you bought the car - you pay the lender that finances the car, according to the terms of the loan you make with the lender; and the terms of a loan will vary among all the various lenders.

• Scott
    Lv 6
    7 months ago

You can't borrow the down payment. If you have to do that, you have no business trying to buy a car.

• 7 months ago