promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthWomen's Health · 11 months ago

Can’t insert tampon? Help?

This is really embarrassing and I’m sorry but I’m having a lot of trouble trying to use tampons. I’ve never used them before nor have I ever put anything up there really and although I followed the directions I couldn’t do it because it hurt too badly. I could only get it about half way in before it hurt too bad for me to continue. Is this a normal thing? How do I get past it? I don’t want to end up just throwing the tampons out seeing as they were so expensive.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    11 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Kayleen is wrong. The hymen does not need to be perforated in any way to fit a tampon in your vagina. Most girls can comfortably insert the tampon without force and therefore there is NO need to break your hymen. However, if you are having trouble with insertion, you may have a tilted uterus (that makes tampon insertion quite difficult). Try lying down on your bed with your knees drawn up towards your chest. If that attempt doesn't work, see a gynecologist to check for any abnormalities. It should never hurt to insert a tampon during your period. Pain means it is not sitting properly. In no way should you ever try to force the tampon inside you.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Edna
    Lv 7
    11 months ago

Go back and read the instructions again. If you can't get the tampon to go in, you're probably trying to insert it "straight in" (so to speak). You're hitting the "back" of your vagina, and possibly your cervix. Tampons are inserted at a slight upward angle and slightly toward your lower back. Just insert it along the natural slant of your vagina, and you won't have any trouble.

• 11 months ago

get to know your body .....experiment, stick things up there

• 11 months ago