Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesPerforming Arts · 9 months ago

Is guitar hard to learn? Is it easier if I already know how to read music?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Tony B
    Lv 7
    9 months ago

Learning any musical instrument properly is difficult. I found it difficult to learn to play but not “hard” because it was something I'd always wanted to do and that I enjoyed. I was self-taught so my progress, especially to begin with, was slow but I still spent almost all of my free time struggling with it. Like I say though, I actually enjoyed it!

Instruments like violin, viola, cell, brass instruments and piano are “harder” but anyone claiming that guitar is easy is mistaken. It takes a lot of time and effort.

Since, like many people of my generation,I'm self-taught I couldn't really claim that lessons are essential but lessons from a good teacher are DEFINITELY the easiest way to learn - the only “shortcut” I know of.

Already being able to read music won't be a help when you start but willbe an advantage later on. The difficult thing though is being able to find the notes on the guitar.

• Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    9 months ago

Yes, learning the guitar is hard to do, as hard as any other instrument. Ignore the know-nothings who said it's easy. Learning to play a few chords is easy; mastering the guitar is difficult. If you can read music then that's a real good start but it will still be a lot of work. It's totally worth it, however. Lessons are a must.

If you have additional questions feel free to follow up or ask a new question. Good luck!

Source(s): Playing the guitar for 56 years
  • 9 months ago

learning the guitar is not hard. Knowing how to read music really does help. Like everything else, you just need to practice and keep with it.

• 9 months ago

Clearly you don't know any guitarists, if you did you'd realize how ridiculous this question is. No, learning guitar is not hard.