Is an Insta Pot worth it?

There is a sale at a local store and have been thinking about getting one. A six quart is about $70. Just wondering what people think about them before I buy. I do cook but a lot of time I am pressed for time between working night and volunteering at the American Legion.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Well, I love mine, but I'm a hobby cook and a gadget freak so I like stuff like that. Here's what I use mine for: Poached chicken breasts in 8 minutes, or shredded chicken breasts in 12; Perfect easy peel hard boiled eggs (5 minutes under pressure, 5 more of pressure release, and 5 minutes in an ice bath) so we have deviled egg snacks on hand; The best risotto I've ever eaten; Really tender, cooked all day beef stew with 12 minutes under pressure and the best Kalua Pork this side of Maui. If you do a search on Recipe: Instant Pot XXXXX (name of dish), it's hard to come up without a recipe.

The machines are easy to clean, the stainless pot can be buffed clean with Bar Keeper's Friend, and all the parts that touch food can be put in the dishwasher. For me, it's worth it. I have 2.

• lois r7 months agoReport

You convinced me. I do like the option where you can do delay timing.

• 7 months ago

Got one recently. Like anything, it has it's good points and bad points. It used to take about 6 hours to cook my barbecue pork chops in a crock pot and the instant pot can do it in 30 minutes. But... the barbecue sauce cannot thicken and get baked onto the chops like in an oven (can't do it much in a crock pot either, for that matter.

Cooked a great pot roast in it in just 1 hour. It's really great for pot roast. Seared the roast in a pan first, with butter, garlic, and olive oil. Placed in Instant Pot with some beef broth, Lipton Onion Soup Mix, carrots, potatoes and onions. Perfect.