Kentucky Derby Question: Should the jockey be fined for dangerous horsemanship?
Did anyone else see this?
The Stewards ruled on this race disqualifying Maximum Security for moving out of his lane and creating a hazard on the track, but if you examine the video very closely, you will see that the jockey Luis Saez guided his horse Maximum Security out of his lane not just once, but TWICE. First, on the backside of the track, as is widely reported and which is very obvious to everyone, the jockey Luis Saez moved Maximum Security to the right, blocking the rest of the field from passing on the right. And later, after the final turn, when the horse behind him made a bid to pass on the right side, Saez moved his horse to the right out of his lane a SECOND TIME to secure the final stretch and to edge out competition. Does anybody think that Saez should be fined for this dangerous jockeying technique in addition to the disqualification of Maximum Security?