promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

Will I be accepted into the Civil Engineering Masters program at University of Illinois - Chicago?

I graduated from a smaller, private university last year with my CE degree, with a cumulative gpa of 3.18. My last 60 credit hours had an average gpa of around 3.22 (not great I know). However, because I was at a smaller university, I was allowed to take 2 graduate level courses during undergrad, one as a junior and one as a senior, and passed with a B in each.

The website says that UIC does not require the GRE, so I have not taken it.

I have been working at an engineering firm since graduation, so I haven't been idle.

Update:

Would it help if I got letters of recommendation from the Professional Engineers I work with every day? Because even though my grades weren't the best, I am not dumb, and my records at work show that.

Would it help if I also explain in the Personal Statement that while in undergrad, I worked multiple jobs, and was in a sorority and honors society. I didn't get help for school, I had to pay for rent and food by myself, so its not like I was a slacker, I just had to work to survive.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 11 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi Drew - All you can do is apply to UIC and see what they say. If you are willing to look into a post-graduate program that relies on your BS-CivEng, you may wish to consider the Environmental programs at UI-Springfield. They shouldn't have the same rigorous entry requirements and it is a growing field. Good luck to you.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    11 months ago

Doubtful. They have very few openings each year and the best of the best are chosen for those spots and your grades will put you at a GREAT disadvantage. I know for a fact that you will not get in the Engineering program at the University in Champaign Illinois with that grade average. My friend who lives in Illinois has a son with a 3.7 and was declined.