These engines, however, now sell for a price of only $6,000. How much is your economic profit this year?
Because yours was the first such engine to exist, and you've spent some money in the past on advertising and
branding, you can still charge a price above marginal cost, but the days of monopoly profits are behind you.
Now that you have your team oriented to this new competitive market, you need to figure out how to maximize
profits in the short term. Your market research company has revised the demand to be the demand for your
company's Hydro-gine, not the overall market demand for motorcycle engines that run on water, as
Qd = 8,000 – 0.8P
You've correctly determined that the associated MR function is MR = 10,000 – 2.5Q. Your fixed cost has not
changed—it’s still $4 million. Your marginal cost also has not changed; it’s still $2,000 per engine, so you have
calculated that MR = MC at a quantity of 3,200 engines per year.