promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

How to Achieve Natural Vibrato?

This is the age-old question, but let me get one thing straight first: I know vibrato can't be learned, but I know I have it because I've hit it a few times. My question is, how do I hit my natural vibrato with ease? I see a plethora of YouTube videos on how to do it, but none of them seem to help? Any suggestions? Is there a video/method that helped you?

Update:

Yes, I breathe with my diaphragm, my breath is strong. I've been acting for eight years and breath is everything. The sound that comes out when I sing is smooth but there isn't any vibrato.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    11 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Best answer: See a teacher

My current and other teachers and books have all described it to something of this effect:

When all your tension is in proper areas (that is, no unecessary tension)

When everything is relaxed that should be relaxed

When you have sufficient control over the diaphragm and breath management (and further if you're going to assume that parts of your technique are capable without even being reviewed by a voice teacher then you may never get your results, don't assume anything).

Your tone will have vibrato to it. (of course they go into detail more but essentially thats it summarized).

The problem with youtube videos:

Obviously, if you're NOT getting a natural vibrato, you're doing something WRONG. (Yes, it could even be breath management, get over it).

What are you doing WRONG? Who knows.

Maybe tension in the tongue, in the neck, in your stance

Maybe your breath control is different when you sing

Maybe your not placing the voice right

Maybe your trying to still manipulate it directly

List of 100 other possible reasons why

WHO KNOWS?

Now, when you watch a youtube video, it may show you a technique. The technique may even be good.

Cool, so you do the technique.