Is there a vaccine for Malaria?

I am a student and I need to do a research about Malaria, and vaccine is part of the research.

I searched on the internet, and Wikipedia says that the vaccine for Malaria is RTS,S, but I heard from my parents and other people that the vaccine for Malaria does not exist.

I also did some extra research, and some medical websites say that the vaccine for Malaria does not exist, but those articles were written a long time ago.

I'm not sure whether Wikipedia is wrong or the medical websites are outdated

I want to know:

If the vaccine for Malaria exists, the name(s) of it

If not, why there is no vaccine for Malaria

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 year ago
    Favorite Answer

We have vaccines against diseases caused by some bacteria and some viruses. Malaria is caused by a parasite, not a bacterium or virus. The parasite is injected into the host when mosquitoes fed on their blood. There are medication that can be taken to reduce the chances of being infected with the parasite. Many have adverse side effects.

As far as I know , there is no vaccine against malaria though there may now be long-acting, injectable medications without so many side effects. Actual vaccines train your immune system so it can deal with future expose to the pathogen. Medications do not provide that immune system training.

The most effective long term programmes to eradicate malaria involve insecticides or genetic manipulation of the mosquito breeding cycle. An insecticide called 'DDT' was used until the 1960s and was very effective but it was found to cause serious long term harm to people who suffered continued exposure so DDT was banned.

• ...Show all comments
    • οικος
      Lv 7
      1 year agoReport

Malaria and yellow fever are different. The first is spread by Anopheles mosquitoes and the second by Aedes.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • hart
    Lv 6
    1 year ago

the vaccine delusion

• Anonymous
    1 year ago