Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentImmigration · 9 months ago

I am a dual (Aust and US) citizen and live in Australia. I have never been to the US but Mum is American. My bank wants to know...?

I am signing up for a new bank account here in Australia and the bank wants to know if I am am a US citizen. They say it's for taxation purposes.

Why are they asking me for my social security number? Does it mean that I'll get taxed more on my income once I start to earn money? I'm currently a university student and have no clue about this.

Also, my mum told me to never cancel my US citizenship and that it is very valuable should I ever want to live over there. Is there a downside to dual (US/abroad) citizenship?

I need some answers...

Update:

My bank didn't ask me this 10 years ago, why are they asking me now?

15 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 months ago

If you hold US citizenship, irrelevant of anything else, you have to report your taxes to the US government.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 9 months ago

The United States is one of the few countries on Earth that taxes worldwide income. While this sounds scary, it means nothing until you make "real" money. For 2019, the first $109,000 you make are exempt. The majority of people never make it to that point in their lifetime. But let's say you make $250,000 per year. After Australia taxed the sh*t out of you, you may have been left with $150,000 take home. If you file a US income tax return as you are supposed to do as a US citizen, Uncle Same would take you on the difference between $150,000 and $109,000, meaning on $41,000. The income tax on $41,000 is $6,426. Lesson to be learned: once you make about a quarter million a year, invest a $1,000 bill on a good tax professional, who then converts your "income" into investments so that they won't be income to begin with.