Possible to learn to play guitar only with videos and books without classes? any such experience?

15 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 year ago

It's possible, but it would be easier for someone to teach you in person. I've been playing guitar since I was 15, and I'm 33 going on 34 (I also play other instruments such as bass guitar, keyboard, and drums). I couldn't afford formal lessons, as I grew up in poverty. It was a miracle that I was even able to own any musical instruments, because there's no way I can afford them without help. I was a natural drummer. Played drums on and off since I was 10. Always wanted to learn how to play the guitar, but I was afraid I couldn't learn (fear of it being too complicated). While jamming with some friends when I was 14, the one who was playing the bass guitar let me try it out. He showed me an easy blues riff. I had various friends that were teaching me how to play. One of my cousins, over Christmas break when I was 15, showed me a few power chords (A5, G5, F#5, F5). My late grandfather showed me some regular chords. I was self taught on the synth keyboard. (I'm running out of room)

Source(s): A friend of mine, who I attend church with, taught me the pentatonic scales and lead guitar riffs and solos. So, yes, you can learn on your own. But it is much easier for someone to come along side and teach you. If they are friends, they might teach you free of charge. When I was a teenage boy, formal music lessons were $20 for one half-hour. I'm a grown man now, and I'm not sure if the rate is the same or if it's higher.
    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 year ago

Yes, it is possible. Give yourself time on regular basis.

• Anonymous
    1 year ago

Perfectly possible. I'm self taught from books and the "Youtube university", and I'm a proficient player, and even shred a little.