If you hit your opponent with an otherwise leagal serve, whose point is it?
- ChuckLv 78 months agoFavorite Answer
The point is yours. Players must let the ball bounce. If the ball hits the player, he/she loses the point, even if the ball hits the player while the player is standing right next to the back fence, 20 feet behind the baseline!!
"Rule 24. PLAYER LOSES POINT
The point is lost if:
i. The ball in play touches the player or anything that the player is wearing or carrying, except the racket"
My comment: The key phrase here is "in play." Once the ball bounces out, it is no longer in play. Also, it doesn't matter if this happens on the serve or a shot later on in the point. Notice that Rule 24 i. didn't specify which shot in the point was being considered.Source(s): ITF Rules of Tennis
- DIEGO.Lv 77 months ago
this is a good question!
- 8 months ago
If the ball is touched by the returner without it landing, its the server's point.
- 8 months ago
This is silly. If the receiver was stupid enough to stand that close to the service box and not avoid getting hit, the point is yours.
- How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
- VerulamLv 78 months ago
If the ball doesn't come back, and provided the serve was allowed, the server.
- Chris AncorLv 78 months ago
You lose a point for bad spelling.
- Anonymous8 months ago
Yours. It's the receiver's responsibility to get the ball back and that includes not getting hit by it.
- DavidLv 78 months ago
- The Football GodLv 78 months ago
Yours. If it's not in the rules, you should get the point out of sheer stupidity of someone standing in the service area.