Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferencePrimary & Secondary Education · 2 years ago

Why is my school being so unreasonable?

I'm a freshman in high school in Texas. So I'm like NEVER in trouble at school at all (I'm actually an honors student) but Friday I let my friends peer pressure me into joining them in bullying a girl during PE class, and we totally got caught. I felt bad about it as soon as I did it and I HAVE apologized. I know it was wrong. But the school isn't cutting me ANY slack even though I have a great track record. I got sent home with a form informing my mom what I did (totally fair) and that I will be getting swats on Tuesday (today is a teacher work day). I just think this is a gross overreaction. I've never even had detention but once! I haven't given my mom the letter yet, though I know I need to when she gets off work today. I just don't know why I can't get a little slack?

Update:

Sarah's response is pretty fair, so I get why I'm not getting slack. But why does it have to be swats? Why not ISS or a day's out of school suspension, or really about anything else?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • ?
    Lv 7
    2 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Because you are in a public school. Public schools are usually required by BOE policy to treat all "offenses" the same rather than take a subjective view of the person who committed the offense. They don't want "normally good honor students" to get preferential treatment over "habitual troublemakers with bad grades." Schools also tend to have a standard "punishment" for a specific misbehavior. Again, this makes it easy for the school administrators and they can't be accused of favoritism. As to WHY your particular school applies that particular punishment, you'd have to ask them.

Look, here's the good news:

1. You may have learned your lesson the teenagers aren't the best judge of what to do and you should cave in to peer pressure when you know the action is wrong.