Car tire question?

This might be a silly question, but bear with me. So, I have a 2012 Toyota Yaris and I need to get a singular rim for it. I'm not entirely sure of the size of rim I should purchase. The tires that are on it are size 195/50R16. I looked up rims using the make and model of my car, but they were 15 inch rims and the description had a little "guide" on how to choose the right size that said that R15=15 inch, R16=16 inch, etc. I'm worried if I google "2012 toyota yaris rim" I will end up with the wrong size rim and be out of money and my ride to school. I just want to make sure that I purchase the correct size because I am a broke college student. Thanks for any help!

Update:

Forgot to add, the listing that confused me said it fit a 2012 Toyota Yaris but were 15 inch rims while my tires are have "R16".

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Yaris came with 15" wheels with a 16" option offered on some models. You obviously have 16" option.

If you have stock (OEM) steel wheels with plastic covers, and you're broke it's a no brainer. Get your sexy little butt down to your nearest wrecker and pick up a pre-loved Yaris rim for $20. Nobody wants those things so don't be persuaded into paying $150 or something stupid. If you're lucky it may come with a good tyre too.

If you have alloy wheels, the relevant dimensions will be stamped or cast into the wheel, usually near the rim but sometimes on the back. It'll say something like 6x16JJ +51 or 6Jx16ET51

Where;

6 is the nominal width of the rim in inches

16 is diameter of the rim in inches

+51 or ET51 is the offset of the rim in mm - how far the rim/hub mounting face sticks in or out of the wheel arch relative to the centreline of the rim. All front wheel drive cars like yours have positive offset (written as + or ET) where the rim centreline is closer to the car than the hub.