In Texas, can I kick out a paying roommate if they're not on any kind of lease? They just pay cash?
- DEBSLv 79 months agoFavorite Answer
Depends on what you mean by "kick out". If you mean throw them out overnight, then the answer is no. If you mean giving them proper notice to leave, then the answer is yes.
As they aren't under any contract, you just need to follow your state laws. In Texas, you should give 30 day written notice (assuming he pays monthly). It would take affect on the 1st of the next rental month. That means that if you gave notice today, the 30 days wouldn't start until April 1 giving him until April 30 to be out. (If he pays weekly, you only need give 7 day notice.)
- KennyLv 79 months ago
If you two have no contract, than it month to month . So 30 day notice registered letter should do it .
- SSP Bowl DudeLv 79 months ago
You have to give them proper notice to leave.
- SimplytheFACTSLv 79 months ago
no, assuming you are on a lease with the owner, you are acting as sub landlord. you need to give the roommate legal notice. if they are violating your agreement you can give a cure or quit notice and/or a notice of termination (often 1 full month).
chances are they can show they live there (get mail, license uses that address, etc)
- How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
- JenKayLv 69 months ago
They have to be legally evicted.
- Anonymous9 months ago
No you can't