Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceRenting & Real Estate · 11 months ago

Hired A New Leasing Agent?

I hired a new leasing agent that is 28 years old & still new at this. He is refusing to get a $ 350 non-refundable pet deposit pet pet and a $15 per pet rent on top of the regular rent. I am in Austin, Texas and I have been doing it this way since 1963. It has always worked for me. He is only leasing my property and not managing it. He is saying you can not do this.

What would you do since he will not get back to the client on this who wants to rent the property.

Update:

These are not service dogs. These are 4 little 30 pound dogs and two cats. Clients wanted to put in an application but now as of yet I have not heard from the agent since yesterday.. I was willing to drop the non-refundable in half with a double security deposit which is refundable. This guy doesn't seem to realize he is not managing my property & he is suppose to be working for me the way I want it done. have never had this happened.

13 Answers

Relevance
  • 11 months ago
    Favorite Answer

Why is he saying you can't do this? Pets are one of the few things over which you absolutely can charge extra rent, though I'm not sure this applies to service animals?

Assuming he doesn't have a good reason for refusing to charge the extra rent then to me this is a good sign that this guy doesn't really know what he's doing and maybe you need a different leasing agent - if he has problems with this basic thing, and won't fix those problems, then what other problems will he cause down the road that he won't fix.

Maybe tell him to charge the extra rent immediately or he's fired. If he won't charge the extra rent (I'd give him 24 hours to handle it but no more) then fire him.

• J.J.11 months agoReport