Can you recommend some holiday cookie recipes for people new to baking?

Attachment image

13 Answers

Relevance
  • Amy
    Lv 7
    12 months ago
    Best Answer

I have a couple of suggestions. First and easiest, Sugar Cookies are THE classic holiday cookie but they can be a pain in the butt to make from scratch. I've been using the Betty Crocker Sugar Cookie mix for a few years now. It's super easy and no one would know that it isn't made from scratch. I also find that the Whipped canned frosting is really good. I get the white kind and with a little food coloring I get the festive colors that I want. Add some sprinkles and you're baking like a pro!

PUMPKIN CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

These are our fav Halloween/Thanksgiving cookie. They're very easy and they don't have to be perfect.

1 cp pumpkin

2 eggs

½ cp butter, room temp

1 ½ cp sugar

1 tsp vanilla

2 ½ cp flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

½ tsp salt

1 pkg chocolate chips

In a large bowl combine the butter and sugar, use a potato masher or fork to cream them together. Add the pumpkin, eggs and vanilla and stir until well mixed.

Add the dry ingredients and stir it all together. Add the chocolate chips and stir till they’re evenly distributed.

Heat oven to 375*. Use a 1/4 cp measuring cup to drop onto greased cookie sheets. Best made as rather large cookies. Makes 18 lrg cookies.

Bake approx 12-14 min.

CRAISIN ORANGE OATMEAL COOKIES

These are my newest fav holiday cookie. I'm making them tomorrow to take to dinner on Thursday.

1 Cup Butter, Softened

1 Cup Granulated Sugar

1/2 Cup Packed Brown Sugar

2 Large Eggs

1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract

2 Cups All Purpose Flour

1 Teaspoon Baking Powder

1/2 Teaspoon Cinnamon

1/2 Teaspoon Salt

1/4 Teaspoon Baking Soda

2 Cups Quick Cooking Oats

1 Tablespoon Grated Orange Peel

1 1/2 Cups Craisins