Is it possible to contract hiv or hepatitis this way?

I work as a cashier and while bagging items I noticed blood on the bag. I don't know if it was there before or what. I tried to avoid it but after I cashed the man out I noticed a smear of blood on my finger. I had not visible cuts or wounds. I used hand sanitizer three times and didn't get to wash my hands until about two hours later. I'm very worried about getting hiv or hepatitis.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Edna
    Lv 7
    1 year ago

What's most likely is that the blood on the outside of the bag was coming from a leaky package of meat or poultry that was inside the bag. An unfrozen package of poultry is notorious for "leaking".

It was animal blood, and a human can't contract HIV or hepatitis from the blood of an animal.

• 1 year ago

HIV? No. Hepatitis? Unlikely, but maybe...that virus is a bit more contagious.

• kelvin
    Lv 7
    1 year ago

no you can't

• k w
    Lv 7
    1 year ago

just wear some nitrile gloves.....flesh or white, for your protection......besides, the register receipt has a hormone disrupter in the ink......not safe to touch.....and you can't wash it off.....

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Anonymous
    1 year ago

I wouldn't worry about it , I have had worse things than that happen to me and went to the doctors and they didn't even think there was a need for a blood test I had unprotected sex once with a HIV positive chick by accident well she lied to me accualy the dirty filthy junkie animal 3 months later had a test and was negative

• paul
    Lv 7
    1 year ago

wow and your still alive to ask this ???? amazing

• Stacie
    Lv 4
    1 year ago

No, you should be fine, both transfer through a mix of fluids. You would have to touch an open wound with the blood.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.