Age of consent laws in Arkansas?

So I read that if a person over 20 has sex with a minor over 16, that the sex is legal under arkansas law. But does that mean that if the offender is 19, and the minor is 15 that the sex is legal then? And what would the federal government have to say about it, if anything?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Yeti
    Lv 7
    1 year ago
    Favorite Answer

    The age of consent in Arkansas is 16.

    Some sites indicate there's a close-in-age exception of 3 years in Arkansas if the younger person is 14 or 15. But that wouldn't cover an age span of 15 to 19.

    The age of consent is a state law. The federal government can get involved if minors travel across state lines for sexual purposes, for example.

    If you have a real situation, you should consult a local attorney who knows your local laws.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 year ago

    See this, under Fourth Degree Sexual Assault:

    https://www.criminaldefenselawyer.com/resources/ar...

    It is illegal- as it should be- the punishment can be fines and from one to six years in prison and a felony or misdemeanor, depending upon what was done to the 15 year old.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 year ago

    The "close in age exemption" only applies if the offender is under 18.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • Jamey
    Lv 7
    1 year ago

    The age of consent is set in law and applies to both sexes equally (usually). It sounds like where you are the age of consent is 16. So 2 15 y/os can't do it, a 99 y/o can do it with a 16 y/o but not someone who is 15. and so on.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Anonymous
    1 year ago

    No it's not. That's not true

    Source(s): Arkansan
    • Login to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.