Is slapstick humor and visual gags in cartoons still popular with TODAY's or THIS GENERATION's youngsters?

Hi. I am a writer and cartoonist. I want to produce animation and cartoons for youngsters for a living- kids'/family/all-age stuff. I went to school for animation 2 decades ago, and I just discovered now that I want to make toons and comics and showcase them in web videos online. A lot of independent... show more Hi. I am a writer and cartoonist. I want to produce animation and cartoons for youngsters for a living- kids'/family/all-age stuff.

I went to school for animation 2 decades ago, and I just discovered now that I want to make toons and comics and showcase them in web videos online.

A lot of independent animation and comics people do that these days. You don't have to work for a studio to make toons or a publisher to make comics.

I don't know that much about the comics industry, but I know the landscape of animation has changed drastically since the late 20th century- the '80s and '90s.

Back in the '80s and '90s you DIDN'T have political correctness stepping in to crap on stuff and censorship wasn't a major issue. The FCC didn't touch traditional cartoons shown on broadcast TV for a LONG TIME.

Traditional cartoons seemed to be a whole lot more popular back then.

The FCC did step in and caused the broadcast TV networks to pull regular toons from their weekday morning, weekday afternoon and Saturday morning programming blocks because they deemed a lot of these cartoons too violent and that kids weren't learning anything. Another reason the FCC stepped in could have been because of the lack of censorship. Toon makers got away with "sneaking crap past the radar".

Despite all this are slapstick humor and visual gags still popular with the youngsters?

When I was a youngster I liked comedic cartoons, more so than the action stuff.

I am curious- please help. Thank you.