Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Social SciencePsychology · 2 years ago

Writing “scares” me, how do I help it to still be able to write..?

I’ve been writing for over 10 years, ever since I was a child. (20 now)

Always loved exploring the mysterious, death, God, watching the stars and writing my thoughts of other worlds.. I recieved wise advice from a few “mentors” and so I’d write diaries and include everything they told me.

In 2012 when moving, I realized how many papers I had with random notes and none of it was organized. Half the time I didn’t finish what I wrote bc I got distracted writing something else.

I can’t seem to pull myself to just throw the unfinished stuff away, because I want others to read my insight some day, so for 6 years I’ve been trying to play “catch up” and finish all of the random notes I wrote years ago, but also trying to write about today and new insight.

The beginning of this year lost a close friend and the topic of death scared me, I couldn’t open a notebook where I had previously written about death and freaked out if suicide was mentioned on tv.. Even being in my rm filled w notebooks was too much. (Ive seen ppl die but I guess friends death was more dramatic.)

I can write about death again, but when I have a stack of notebooks in front of me I seem to start freaking out thinking I’ll never finish it all, then I start thinking of my death again, and I have to put everything away before I freak out more...

Ppl say step back from writing but I cant, its my life and I feel I need it all “perfect” or whats the point of doing it?

How do I just stop overthinking and freaking out?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 years ago