Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferencePrimary & Secondary Education · 2 years ago

Is it normal to feel like you know nothing about your future?

Seriously, I am in high school and its really stressful because we have to think about college and what we want to do when we get older, but that isnt the worst of it. I am a great student, i could tell you all about the laws of physics, or I could give a damn good explanation of any of Shakespeare's works, but I struggled to change the gas in my car alone for the first time.

I feel as though in high school you learn about education but not how to function as an adult. It makes me super scared, because me and anyone else my age really knows nothing about anything. I'm serious.

What the hell is a mortgage? How do you get a credit card? How do you pay taxes? How do you pay a credit card off every month?

Why do I feel like there are so many things i have to learn about my life outside of my parent's aid? It is so overwhelming because i don't even know the expanses of all the things I have to know.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I'm not sure this is an answer to your question, but I've always wished I could give a graduation speech about "The Unplanned Life". I had no idea what I wanted to do when I went to college. I majored in something it was impossible to get a job in. Then I ended up accidentally going to another country and falling into a job that turned out to be the love of my life. I had to go back to school twice, but ended up doing something I love, love, love. You don't need to know exactly what you want to do with your life at 18.

As for the other stuff- there are lots of resources for finding out how to do things, including your parents. There will be banks with credit card applications at your college orientation, and real estate agents happy to walk you through the process of getting a mortgage. Don't sweat it.

• Anonymous
    2 years ago