Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceRenting & Real Estate · 2 years ago

Should I move out at 18?

I just turned 18 and I'm in my final year of high school and since I'm legal i was wondering, can I move out? I mean I don't want to be one of those people who are 40 and still live with their parents, since my mom wants me to be out of the house soon, should I move out now?

P.S sorry for any grammar mistakes alright, it's the Internet not a paper.

17 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 years ago

Whether you are 18, 19, 20, 21...years of age is irrelevant. What is relevant is that you have a job that can support yourself within a normal standard of living. Such as, paying rent, utilities, cell phone, automobile loan, insurance and gas, food plus clothing. If you have the money for all that, that is great, but that is not all you will need. You will need a work history or a credit history in order to sign a lease agreement for a rental.

If you want to move and crash at a friend's house, then I suppose you can do that because you are of age. However, I do believe some states have certain requirements if you are still in high school while being 18.

Living with your parents as a teenager is not something to be ashamed of and comparing it to being 40 is a far stretch in time. Stay home, get a job, save money, go to college and get an education that lands you a good job. Otherwise, you will be stuck with wages of an 18 year old and never be able to afford the lifestyle you want.

• Judy
    Lv 7
    2 years ago

Do you have a job making enough to support yourself? Better to finish school and graduate, then get a decent job and save some money, then move out.

• 2 years ago

You need to prove to a landlord that your monthly earnings are at least 3 times monthly rents. Landlords often require at least a year on the job. How are you going to pay rent, utilities, and all your remaining expenses? Or is your mother going to sign the lease & pay for everything?

• 2 years ago