Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthMental Health · 1 year ago

Can someone suggest ways I could try to eliminate some of my anxiety?

I hope someone could help me out. I am a college student, and anxiety has been taken over my life more recently and I don't know why. I didn't have it growing up, and now it seems to be interfering with my life.

One of my biggest fears is getting sick in front of other people. I go to a relatively small school, so there's not much of a way I could hide if I feel out of it. I also had a mini-faint where I blanked out in class for a few seconds last semester and had to have an ambulance come check me out. This makes me worried about it happening again since a lot of my friends in my major saw it. Another thing is I will be performing in band next semester, and one of the tasks involves standing up for the 90 minute rehearsal. I'm anxious about this since standing up for a long time was one of the reasons I passed out last semester.

I'm mostly trying to find remedies to help me deal with my anxiety before the semester starts next month. I am seeing a psychotherapist, but it feels like there's only so much that can be recommended. I also heard of a 5 second counting backwards rule and thinking of an anchor thought, so I might try that.

If anyone has suggestions for things I can try to alleviate some anxiety, I'd really appreciate it! Thanks in advance!

Update:

Here are some of my main symptoms if it helps: (social) anxiety/nervousness, fear of getting sick in front of others, heart racing, dry mouth, lightheadedness/dizziness, coughing/gagging, not wanting to eat, nausea (especially around food), fear of eating in public, worried about standing for too long, always wanting to know where a bathroom/exit is, shaking/trembling. I am also a musician, and have performed hundreds of times, but now I get anxious to perform too.

Update 2: