Should she pay me?

I'm a real estate agent and helped another agent while she was,on vaca show her clients a house. I could have said no I know. first time we couldn't get in because she didn't confirm, then she just assumed I would be available next night. 7pm, pouring rain, half hour away and the clients were there for an hour!! didn't get home until about 845. of course the loved the house and put an offer in (with their agent that was on vaca) shouldn't she at least give me something for my time and the fa t they actually put an offer in? I'm ticked and don't want to help her anymore.

19 Answers

Relevance
  • B
    Lv 7
    2 years ago

if you were not part of any written deal with her, she really cannot actually pay you. lesson learned big time.

• 2 years ago

yes, I think.

• 2 years ago

She "should" show her appreciation, but no, she is not obligated because you two do not have a contract.

In the future, with ANY agent you step in to help, you should have, in advance, in writing what is expected when a house you show for another listing agent sells. This could be between you and each individual agent, or the whole sales team of that particular Real Estate office you all work for.

The problem here is that you had no prior agreement. I think it is lousy that the other agent did not offer you SOMETHING for selling her listing. That sucks.

As you know, just showing a house is not the end of the listing agent's job. There are lots of things that happen after an offer is given and accepted (negotiations which can take up to a week with back and forth offers and counteroffers; inspections on the house and mechanics; requests for repairs; renegotiations perhaps, and paperwork galore.

Nonetheless, you should have been thanked with either some money, a nice dinner at a restaurant, a gift or a gift card. Not being acknowledged in some way leaves a thorn in your side, understandably so.

• 2 years ago