J.R.
Lv 4
J.R. asked in HealthMental Health · 2 years ago

Were any of your relatives or ancestors in The Great War or the Second World War?

I was a soldier in the Second World War. I enlisted at the ripe age of seventeen. I had to fib about my age just to get in. That wouldn't work in contemporary times. My dad was in the Great War. That was "The war to end all wars." I really felt a passion about what happened at that time, so that is why I enlisted.

I'm writing a book about of this. I did make another thread about this, but not everyone is on Yahoo at the same. So please excuse if you had read before.

I seek personal stories, either from you or your relatives. I have some great info so far, so thanks for everyone's input!

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    2 years ago

TEN YEAR OLD TROLL!

• 2 years ago

I figure you have all who were interested already, Dude.

• June
    Lv 7
    2 years ago

My mother was his girlfriend and my father was in the Navy.

• 2 years ago

My grandfather served in WWII. I have to tell you that I doubt you did. When did you join, from where, and served in what specific unit? If you are going to claim veteran status, you ought to provide details.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 2 years ago

My maternal grandfather fought in WW I. He was captured by the Germans. He came here from England, so I always assumed he fought for the UK. I found out much later that he came here in 1908 and fought as a US citizen.

My father and my uncle, his brother, enlisted on the same day in 1942 and mustered out on the same day in 1946. My uncle fought in France with the US Army.

My dad served in the Army Air Corps. He was lucky. He got hurt playing baseball at Jefferson Barracks (Missouri) and was out of action for six months. He missed going to the Pacific with his unit, where they flew B-17s. Had he gone, I might not be writing this.