Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Home & GardenMaintenance & Repairs · 1 year ago

Why isn't the air conditioning working?

I'm a student at Phoenix Job Corps Center, and the water main broke outside of the residential building. Now the air conditioning doesn't work. I thought that meant we were still using swamp cooling (which uses water vapor to cool air and then directs the air into the building), but the RA says that the building uses modern air conditioning and the refrigeration unit isn't working because there isn't any water. I'm confused. I thought air conditioning worked by compressing air or something like that and didn't require water. And refrigerators don't need to be hooked up to a water supply unless you have an ice maker. Why would the refrigeration unit for an air conditioner need water?

8 Answers

Relevance
  • elhigh
    Lv 7
    1 year ago

A large, commercial HVAC unit will often use water pouring over the condenser coils, or else recirculating through a cooling tower, to improve its performance. While not exactly a water waster as another answer called it, it can go through a fair amount of water pretty quickly, and without the constant water supply to keep it topped up, everything stops.

I have seen commercial HVAC solutions that had both the condenser and evaporator in package units, and water was piped around the building to cool the condensers and carry the warm water away, and I've seen water-cooled condensers that then pumped the refrigerant around the building to the various evaporators. Both are very effective, both have different costs, advantages and limitations.

But yeah, with a big commercial HVAC, a water main failure can absolutely sideline your air conditioning. But water mains are important, and the utility will have things back up soon enough.

• M.
    Lv 7
    1 year ago