Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentLaw & Ethics · 2 years ago

Did this teacher violate FERPA?

Recently a teacher who I have no classes with or association with has disclosed information from my disciplinary record along with my name, I have several peers from the class period that have told me about this. The only reason she would have known this information is if my previous teacher from the classroom next door told her. (she no longer works at my school) I’m an all around good student and this is the only thing that stains my record, but that’s besides the point-

Clearly someone here is in violation of FERPA and I want to know if the law is on my side in this situation, what are the repercussions that could effect this teacher for deliberately exposing my private information?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Athena
    Lv 7
    2 years ago

It depends.

What damages has this disclosure caused you?

Despite your pious claims, you DO have a record that is SO egregious as to spark interest.

You also have no direct proof, yet, that she did this action. You have only hearsay testimony, and again, what damage has it caused?

It is a disciplinary action, so you did do the crime, so to speak. To blame the teacher for your misdeeds is typical of your type, but not actionable.

So again, for legal purposes, what damage to you have this teachers actions caused?

• 2 years ago