Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceCareers & EmploymentFood Service · 2 years ago

I'm in college right now, but I think I just want to be a waitress?

I just finished my freshman year at college and I'm working in a restaurant over the summer as a hostess but I want to move up to be a waitress. They won't let me because I'm going back to school in the fall

and they think it's a waste of time. I'm studying to be a social worker. I am interested in that, but honestly, I don't think any traditional job could compare to the excitement of working in a restaurant.

I'm so excited to go to work everyday, not only because I love the people I work with but also because I really think I have a passion for this industry. I love interacting with the customers and there's something about serving people and just getting paid to be really over the top nice to people all day that's really fulfilling.

I'm not doing well in school. I got a 2.6 last semester and I'm under my parents' thumb because they pay for my school, apartment, and car note.

The servers at the restaurant I work at make thousands of dollars a month. I could be out of my parents' house in a little while with that kind of money. I could have a job I love and my independence.

Of course there's the stigma. "Just" a waitress. My dad actually felt the need to point out no college educated main would be interested in me. Which, is probably the least of my problems but true.

I might be cutting myself off from some options, but I don't know, that's just how I feel right now. I feel silly for my dream to be a waitress, but it is.

What should I do?

Update:

I really doubt with my performance in school I could stay in school and be a waitress. Plus, I would want to stay at this restaurant which is two hours away from where I go to college.

I could possibly try going to community college while waitressing, though.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • drip
    Lv 7
    2 years ago