Wanting a different car, have an upside down loan?

I currently owe a little over 8000 on a car that has a current trade in value of around 5000. There is a car I am interested in that is for sale for 1800 from a private seller. Is it possible to work out a scenario where I have the loan refinanced or payed off, get rid of my current car, and have a new loan making smaller monthly payments on this other car? I’m new to car buying/leasing so any information would help thanks.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 year ago

You’re going to lose $3000 if you sell a car for $5000 but still owe $8000 on the loan.

Once you settle the debt on the old car you should be able to get a loan to buy the $1800 car.

• 1 year ago

Nope. Just have your car Traded in at a Legit Dealership, Carmax, Gmc, Toyota, Nissan and add the negative $3k to the new car why create more bills 4 your self...

• 1 year ago

I am in the same position as you I have a GMC I owe $8,500 on and I really want a Chevy truck selling for $18,000 I can get a new loan for the 18,000 with $1,000 down and $250.00 a month but I would still owe on the $8,500 @ $309.00 per month I wanted to just add the $8,500 to the $18,000 but the GMC is worth nothing so that’s a no go, Now both cars are from the same car lot!

This is what the sales men says to me and I quote “ pay the $1,000 as the down payment the $250.00 per month then just let the finance company take back the GMC”. Really that’s the answer to this problem! Yep he says you’ll have the truck you want your payments will be $250.00 and your credit score goes to crap for defaulting on the 8,500, Bad thing is I’m actually thinking of doing what the salesman says it’s not like I’ll be looking for another loan to buy a house or anything (“RIGHT?”)

Sincerely

Stuck in the mud in Arizona

• Anonymous
    1 year ago