Sierra asked in HealthMental Health · 3 years ago

How To Overcome My Depression?

Hey! I’ve recently left a psych ward for depression and wanted to know if anyone had an advice for someone trying to overcome severe depression. I’m new to a state and have already graduated school. I have no friends and on the days when I start to become depressed and hopeless, I’m not quite sure how to get out there and overcome these feelings. I’m 19 and work with a bunch of older people so that didn’t really help with friends :/ any advice would be great! Thank you

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Think about that first answer "take yoga" - for two reasons. Number 1 - there's evidence that yoga can help with depression. I'm not saying it's as good as Prozac but studies have shown that it's one of the things that can help, along with the standard depression treatments. Number 2, and possibly the most important, is that a yoga class is a place where you can meet people.

The beauty of this is that the classes that have the most people - and the most opportunities for getting to know people - are the least expensive ones. If you live in a big city, there could be a lot of free yoga classes you can go to.

The word "yoga" is used for different things. There's been really good results with slow breathing. It's used for a number of problems, including panic disorder and PTSD. Anything that's good for stress is good for depression. It's excellent for prevention and it can help with recovery from a case of depression.

This is a conversational nugget you can share with somebody at a yoga class - 3 research teams have shown that breathing therapy helps victims of trauma. In the Seppala study, follow-up a year after the 1-week treatment still showed good results.

I have details about breathing therapy, a video with a talk by Dr Seppala, and breathing exercises you can do, in my recent answers.