College: Would you prefer to live in a dorm or live at home? Which one is better?

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Dorm. Unless there are family/financial restrictions, I highly believe that full time students should not go to college within commuting distance of their hometown. The life learning experience is completely different and better.

• 2 years ago

It depends.

• 2 years ago

I NEVER would have chosen to live at home during college! I was so eager to live on my own, make new friends, and experience campus life. It was well worth a bit of discomfort (no A/C, having to share a room, etc.) just for the freedom of not living with parents.

I would have considered it a total failure to have to move back home after I graduated; I almost didn't take a great apartment after I graduated, because it woud be two weeks before I could move into it (I think I graduated on May 15 and the apartment was available June 1) and I'd have to live at home during that time! Kids are different these days, I guess.

• 2 years ago

home is way more comfortable. Dorms are tiny and room mates are loud and dirty

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Anonymous
    2 years ago

I would personally rather live at home. People say that you miss out on the college experience if you don't live on the dorms which I guess is partly true. But not everyone wants to live in the dorm and I'm not going to college to **** around anyway. I'm going to get an education and I don't need to live at the school for that. I could see how it would be nice to meet new people, but it's not the end of the world if you don't live on the dorms.

• DON W
    Lv 7
    2 years ago