Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Family & RelationshipsMarriage & Divorce · 3 years ago

Military Spouse Career Conflict..?

Hello, my wife is in bootcamp about to graduate in less than 2 weeks. I graduated college back in decemeber in Game Art and Design, I'm 23 and my wife is 25 and im about to start my dream job in about a week. i live in NYC. My wife wants me to quit my job when she comes back so we can move into a house together wherever she is stationed. I told her 3D jobs are very hard to get and i spent my entire life learning different art going to art schools since middle school and I've been working so hard to get to where i am. She said that im an unsupportive wife and any wife would give up their dreams for their spouse thats in the military and that i shouldn't put my personal goals before her, and that i dont love her because location shouldnt determine happiness and that im a terrible person and a *****. And has threatened divorce/taking away my health insurance since im her dependent.

I've been trying to find remote jobs but it just isnt really a thing in the 3D art world. If there are remote jobs for 3D its extremely rare...

I dont really know what to do? I found my dream job finally, i dont really wanna give that up, its apart of me.

I know alot of military marriages are long distance because of spouse careers(?) And anytime i try to talk to a military spouse they say i should give up my dreams to support my spouse....

Update:

Okay so me and my wife talked about all of this before she enlisted and before we got married. She told me the military would give me money to live wherever i can get a job at, and we could visit eachother while she supports me from whatever distance there will be between us. But then after she enlisted and after we got married she fliped the script and said that im a horrible wife and person for not going with her wherever she will be stationed, threatened divorce, called me names and etc.

6 Answers

Relevance