Better first gun revolver, pistol or shotgun?

I am getting a gun for my first home for home defense and possibly to get into hunting water fowl next fall. Primarily it would be for home defense not conceal and carry as I’m a teacher and cannot carry at work. I am torn between three guns in particular and I’m surprised the handguns are more expensive.

1. Smith & Wesson 442 engraved: $615

2. Jericho IWI 941 9mm: $500

3. Remington 870 tactical: $375

I like the smith and Wesson because it looks like a gun you could hand down for generations.

I like the Jericho because I’m an American-Israeli and believe in Israeli technology

I like the 870 because it’s American and a classic reliable home defense weapon.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 years ago
    Favorite Answer

How about a 4th suggestion? Get a shotgun with interchangeable barrels. Mossberg 500 line or the like. That way you can have your home defense tactical size shotgun, and in 30 seconds you can have your waterfowl gun ready to go.

Or you can try and shoot geese with a 9mm, although it will be very difficult and most certainly illegal.

• 3 years ago

Heh heh, Consider a Rossi Circuit Judge, it's both a Rifle and a Shotgun, I'm not kidding, it's not a bad option, but I know Taurus Judge haters are going to dislike this answer.

• Quinn
    Lv 6
    3 years ago

Personally, I would never buy a fancy engraved ornate gun specifically for home defense. If you ever do use a gun in home defense situation, it will be taken as evidence by the police and several things can happen: It can be "lost". It can be damaged - and good luck trying to get the government to reimburse you. It can be used as evidence against you by an anti-gun prosecutor who wants to make you out to a jury as a gun nut who cares more about guns than human life - you will be surprised just how inane some of these anti-gun zealots are.