Brooke asked in Business & FinanceCredit · 2 years ago

Can I Get A Mortgage Loan?

I've been establishing my credit for 2 months, so it's at 650 (I checked). I've also had a water bill for about a year, if that helps. My boyfriend has none (long story).

He makes $8/hr, I make $7.50, both Tu-Sat jobs, 5 hrs/day due to school.

He has vehicle insurance & phone bill ($200/month total). I have a credit-building loan ($50/month).

Also, we have some savings.

What's the possibility we will be approved?

(Please no relationship advice) Thanks in advance!

11 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    2 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Two months of credit history is not enough to acquire a conventional mortgage, and a credit score of only 650 certainly isn't, but you may qualify for FHA. By the way, you say your boyfriend has no credit history, but no credit history isn't as much of a big deal in getting a mortgage as a kind of bad credit score of 650.

The biggest problem you're going to run into in getting a mortgage loan is meeting the income requirements. Since all banks sell their mortgage loans on the secondary market, all mortgage loan requirements are pretty much the same. For income, what you pay per month on debt cannot exceed 25% of your total monthly income and whatever mortgage loan you qualify for cannot be for more than 35% of your total monthly income minus what you pay out per month in debt, like towards credit cards.