What makes a game character scary?

So I'm a designer for a game and we're putting together an idea board and weve designed several characters and none of them really leave a lasting impact.I'm not talking about fnaf scary. We want something along the likes of Pyramid Head from Resident Evil, Jeff the Killer, Pigsy from Manhunt, Leatherface, Michael Myers, etc. What's some characteristics of a villain, if you will, that could potentially keep people up at night?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Some tips that may help you:

1. A background story disturbing as hell. So the character must have a story on it's own, perhaps not very deep but creepy enough to keep you thinking about it when you see the character. For example some creepy aspects about Pyramid Head is that they were executioners al the old prison in SIlent Hill and they're supposed to represent justice and punishment in James Sunderland's mind.

2. The Enviroment on which the character moves and acts is very important, not just some creepy abandoned house is enough, with your imagination you can build a great stage scary as shít for your character to act. For example look at how lonely and obscure looks Haddonfield on the first Halloween film, the stage where you fight Pigsy in Manhunt, All those narrow hallways at Resident Evil, etc..

3. Sounds: Original creepy melodies (not the cliched ones) can make scary even a walk in the park .

4. Combining these elements with other characters and other enviroments is what brings the creepyness, most people feel fear when something unspected comes out of a normal situation, and the surprise element must always be accompanied with a sense of hopelessness, your imagination can make some situations for your character to act in the weirdests and strangests opportunities...

Good Luck!

• Alexander2 years agoReport

Thanks for the awesome in depth response! Noted!

• Login to reply the answers
  • 2 years ago