Hello, I have 24,000 in credit card debt. How do i get rid of it! Below is a summary of my financial situation:?

I have had 24k in debt for a few years now and the high interest rate charges and life disability charges theh throw at me each month leaves me only paying the minimum balance each time.

I am 24.

I am a USMC Veteran.

I am married and have a newborn.

I have just started a new job that i intend to stay with and i make 20k per year after taxes

My wife makes about 18k a year after taxes.

We just bought a house with no money down for 100k about 6 months ago.

The mortgage payment is $650 per month

I have a 646 credit score.

I have two credit cards maxed out.

1 card has 15,500 debt with a 16.65 interest rate and the other has 8,500 debt with a 9.99 interest rate.

I have Navy Federal Credit Union as a bank.

I have USAA for auto insurance

I used Hudson Valley Credit Union to purchase my car and have paid it off.

I am mostly interested on how to consolidate my debt the most effective way but with not too large of a payment each month.

Any advice is very appreciated!

Thank you all,

Will

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 years ago
    Favorite Answer

It is too late now to tell you to not get expensive cellphones. Stop contributing to retirement plans at work. They do not pay 10% per year, let alone 16.66%. Calculate your tax liability with a sharp pencil. Do not have too much tax withheld. Apply the extra you get against the cc debt. Cut coupons, shop sales, use gas rewards programs, cc rewards programs, etc. Stretch your money whenever possible.