Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceRenting & Real Estate · 2 years ago

Buying a home at 25?

Hi. Me and my fiance has been together for 9 years and lived together for 6 years. He works as a computer programmer and Im a special ed teacher. We bring in around $8,000 a month. We’re currently renting a condo for 1,200 a month. I have been saving up ever since my first job and my savings is around $15,000 and he also has been saving up since 16 and has $11,000. We’re looking to buy a small home and we found this perfect home for $71,000. We will have to do some renovations if we do end up buying which is probably another $10,000+ and other costs for closing and fees. we’ll be putting down 20 percent down payment. We both have relatively good credit scores, 712 and 765. I was wondering if we are qualified to buy a home? Or are we too young for that? We’ve been planning on getting a home for half a year now and our wedding is in October 2019 and we wanted to get a home before our wedding so we can start a family right away.

10 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    2 years ago

If u have steady jobs and 20% downpayment and your house is quite cheap - no problem at all, u will be qualified and your age has nothing to do with anythkng. Good luck with your new home!

• 2 years ago

You will EASILY qualify for a mortgage of $57k with 20% down on a $71k purchase. You are actually qualified to go substantially higher, with as little as 3.5% down on an FHA. But it's smart to start small and not get more house than you really need starting out. 25 is NOT too young, maturity level is far more important than age. I was not yet 22 when I signed my first purchase offer (accepted).