promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

How much information should I share with the recruiter?

Hi,

I am a software engineer and have been out of work for 10-12 months now. I had an issue with my previous employer and am not on good terms with him now. I am doing my job search and I always get confused or perplexed when answering questions like why I am looking for a new job?.I am currently not sharing that I am out of work. How should I answer this question and handle this situation?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Just tell him you are always seeking new challenges in the ever-moving software industry. Instead of saying you are out of work, you can tell him you were taking a break to pursue your other interests in life before moving back to software jobs. It also helps to say that you are working on new ideas for apps or projects on your own while you were out of work or doing some contract jobs.

Most importantly, these days, companies want to know if you are a good team person and are you able to work hard in stressful environment..etc

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • tro
    Lv 7
    2 years ago

you are out of work because the job was not a good fit for you

if you have the experience the job requires, and you present a good application you should be considered

• 2 years ago

At some point, they are going to ask where you are working now. You can't avoid telling them that you are out of work.

• Greg
    Lv 7
    2 years ago

You will not get away with hiding that you are out of work.

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 2 years ago