Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthDiet & Fitness · 2 years ago

How do I use protein powder when working out?

I am new to working out, I want to lose about 15lbs but eventually gain muscle and be toned. I ve been eating healthy as far as greens and just watching what I eat. What I m confused about it when and what kind of protein powder I should use? Or are there better alternatives than protein powder? What should I be eating before and after a workout?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Whey Protein is the best & you can buy it at bodybuilding.com if u can afford it. Take it before working out & after. If you buy it at bodybuilding.com look for some deals where you can get a bundle package. Ex: If I spend a $100 You’ll get a 5lbs tub of whey protein, a pre-workout supplement, Shaker Cup, & a T-shirt. If u can’t go that route go to target & buy some whey protein but stay the hell out of GNC they are very overpriced. As far as working out eat breakfast, lunch, & dinner as usual. Try not to eat after 10 o clock at night. Try not to consume more then 2500 calories a day & stay away from soda. Drink a lot of water & eat plenty of bananas to stop excessive cramping. Try to workout for at least an hour to an hour in a half. Treadmill? 30-45min on the days you’re not weight training. You could walk or run. Start eating oatmeal for breakfast, toast, & an apple. Those are the type of thing u should be eating. Anymore questions hit me up if u want a meal plan or something

Source(s): I’m a weightlifter
    • Login to reply the answers
  • 2 years ago

You don't need protein powder. It isn't a magic weight loss or muscle building potion. Most Americans get more than enough protein already. If you want to replace a higher-calorie meal with a protein powder drink, that's fine. You should look for one that has as little sugar as possible. Some popular brands have 20 grams of sugars per serving -- that's as much as a doughnut.

• Anonymous