Where are some affordable, nature oriented cities/towns to live in your mid-twenties?

My friends and I are looking to relocate from Miami fall of this coming year. We are all in our mid-twenties and want to experience living in a fresh environment with a balance of nature and city life that won't completely destroy our wallets!

In the process of researching places to live, we've tried to take into account things such as housing affordability, diversity, outdoor activities, locally supported businesses, and nearby universities as one of us is in the process of obtaining her Interior Design degree. (Also, I am a teacher and would like to live somewhere with a decent public school system!)

We've done the research but want to get personal suggestions as well. So far, we've considered Boulder, CO, Savannah, GA, Ann Arbor, MI, and Chicago, IL (though we know this option is very much out of budget).

If you have any thoughts on these locations or any other suggestions you can make, we'd be glad to hear them!

Sincerely,

Broke Millennials

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 3 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Many places meet your basic qualifications.

You really need a map when locating a campus. Many are technically in the next city just an arbitrary line on the map from next.

How the one gets to class be that by car or public transit is part of your search.

https://www.niche.com/places-to-live/search/cities...

COSTS like rent tend to be related to the average wage in an area.DO NOT expect to start out at a high wage or a FULL TIME position.

Nature oriented cities?? What is it you really want? A nearby beach? Maybe some hills/mountains to climb. a forested lake to go fishing? Maybe a place where you can walk or ride a bike to most of your daily needs.?

For that check out walk scores.