Photographers Only! What do you think?

Whats the best shutter speed, aperture and ISO for a sunny day in a big city with lots of sights?

~

Also, whats the best shutter speed, aperture and ISO for a CLOUDY, overcast day in a big city with lots of sights?

I am heading to Seattle in a few weeks, Im an inexperienced photographer

8 Answers

Relevance
  • John P
    Lv 7
    3 years ago
    Favorite Answer

If the subject is illuminated directly by the sun (not in "skyscraper canyon") use ISO 100, 1/250th, f8. That might overexpose the lighter parts a bit. That level applies only in a city without much atmospheric pollution - no good in Shanghai!

At the bottom of skyscraper canyon it is anybody's guess, even on a bright day.

But all modern cameras give good guidance about exposure levels, so I suspect that the question is a homework question.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Bernd
    Lv 7
    3 years ago

Start with AUTO until you understand the basics of exposure.

Explore youtube for good photo training videos...

http://youtu.be/F8T94sdiNjc

Youtube thumbnail

• hooray
    Lv 5
    3 years ago

You can't just apply a few crude settings to broadly defined situations. However, the key point from your question is "in a few weeks". Use this time to work through tutorials online that explain photography basics. This will not transform you into a skilled photographer but it IS enough time to begin understanding what the major camera functions do, and to become familiar with the controls on your camera. As you read or watch a guide, refer to the camera's manual for how these functions operate on your specific camera and set up methodical experiments to see the effects for yourself.

• keerok
    Lv 7
    3 years ago

I think the best setting is Auto mode.

Seriously!

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 3 years ago