promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
DNA
Lv 4
DNA asked in Education & ReferenceTeaching · 2 years ago

Tutors: Do you help students with quizzes?

I'm not a professional tutor but was asked to help a family friend's daughter with a college-level class. I have a graduate degree and do legal work, but still have to prep for the class by reading every chapter and I create an outline for the student. Recently, she asked me to help her take an online quiz for the same class. The parent says that she gets very nervous taking the quiz and would benefit by my presence. I agreed to it once but it was clear she wanted me to help with questions she didn't know--especially longer ones--and wanted me to find the page numbers as it's open book.

Since then, they only want me to come over and help with the weekly quizzes and leave without actually tutoring and helping her. I don't feel comfortable with it and see it as a waste of my time. This is my first time tutoring so I want to know what professional tutors would do in this situation.

Thanks!

Update:

Thanks for the help! I took your suggestion and was honest about how the "tutoring" felt one-sided and having me help with the quiz was doing her no favors--academic dishonesty being another issue. I bowed out of the sessions. They'll find another person and good luck to them on finding a professional tutor that will mar his/her reputation for them.

Thanks again!

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Elaine
    Lv 7
    2 years ago
    Favorite Answer

This is what I would do. Rather than preparing outlines put the focus on teaching the student how to answer questions in general. By this I mean you go over what type of answer is required in questions such as : discuss, explain, describe, etc.