promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Sami asked in HealthMental Health · 2 years ago

How do I tell my parents that I want to drop out of high school (I'm 15, live in New South Wales, Australia and can drop out next year?

Please don't tell me to 'stay in school', because God knows I've had enough of that and it's destroying me in every way possible. I really, really, REALLY want to get out of school and go to TAFE as possible.

So basically, the reasons I want to drop out are as follows:

1. I'm not good at studying. And yes, I know that everyone here will tell me to 'just try harder', but it won't work.

You'll understand why in the next point.

2. I have depression and anxiety, which are INCREDIBLY difficult to balance at school. For example,

depression will make me thing that nothing matters, and anxiety will freak me the **** out (depression: don't

study for your exams, there's no point anyway, you'll just get bad marks. anxiety: OH MY GOD NO

EVERYTHING IS IMPORTANT STUDY STUDY STUDY YOU'RE GONNA BE A FAILURE FOR THE REST

OF YOUR LIFE)

3. About 7-8 months ago, I was moved from my favourite school ever to the school that I completely hate with

all of my heart. My parents moved me because I was self-harming, and I couldn't convince them to let me

stay in my old school. To be honest, it wasn't because of my old school that I self-harmed, it was more the

pressure that my parents put on me every. goddamn. day. And the fact that they call me an idiot, stupid,

dumb etc. whenever I don't understand or unable to do things (because of the depression). But wow, I hate this school so much.

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 2 years ago
    Favorite Answer

1. Talk to them - Do NOT whine cry or beg- talk to them reasonably, tell them your troubles and how you feel, who knows, you may just need a tutor or go to a different school.